Interfaith Calendar 2017-2018

July 2017 - June 2018

Name of Holiday
Religion/ U.S.Holiday
Dates Days of the Week
Eid al-Fitr*^
Islam
7/7/17 - 7/9/17 Friday - Sunday
Asalha Puja Day
Buddhism
7/8/17 Saturday
Martyrdom of the Ba'b
Baha'i
7/9/17 Sunday
Obon/Ulambana
Buddhism/Shinto
7/13/17 - 7/15/17 Thursday
Asalha Puja Theravada Buddhism 7/15/17 Saturday
Birthday of Haile Selassi Rastafari 7/23/17 Sunday
Pioneer Day
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
7/24/17 Monday
Naga Pachami^ Hindu 7/27/17 Thursday
Raksha Bandhan*
Hinduism
8/7/17 Monday
Dormition of the Holy Theotokos
Eastern Orthodox
8/8/17 - 8/15/17 Tuesday - Tuesday
Paryhushana Parva Jainism 8/26/17 - 9/4/17 Saturday - Monday
Krishna Janmashtami
Hinduism
8/30/17 Wednesday
Hajj Day
Islam
8/31/17 Thursday
Eid al-Adha*^
Islam
9/1/17 - 9/4/17 Friday - Monday
Muharram
Islam
9/21/17 Thursday
Rosh Hashana*^
Judaism
9/21/17 - 9/22/17 Thursday - Friday
Navaratri/ Dassehra
Hindusim
9/21/17 - 9/29/17 Thursday - Friday
Al-Hijrah Islam 9/22/17 Friday
Equinox celebrations of Mabon and Ostata Wicca/Pagan Traditions 9/22/17 Friday
Yom Kippur
Judaism
9/29/17 - 9/30/17 Friday - Saturday
International Blasphemy Day Rights Atheist/Agnostic/Humanist 9/30/17 Saturday
Ashura* Hinduism 10/1/17 Sunday
Sukkot*^
Judaism
10/5/17 - 10/11/17 Thursday - Wednesday
Elijah Muhammad's Birthday
Nation of Islam
10/7/17 Saturday
Sh'mini Atzeret
Judaism
10/11/17 - 10/13/17 Thursday - Friday
Simchat Torah*^ Judaism  10/13/17 Friday
Diwali^
Hinduism/Jainism/Sikhism
10/19/17 Thursday
Birth of the Ba'b
Baha'i
10/21/17 Saturday
Samhaim/Beltane
Wicca/Pagan traditions
10/31/17 - 11/1/17 Tuesday
Birthday of Guru Nanek dev Sahib Sikhism 11/4/17 Saturday
Bodhi Day
Buddhist
12/8/17 Friday
Hannukah*
Judaism
12/13/17 - 12/20/17 Wednesday - Wednesday
Yule
Wicca/Pagan traditions
12/21/17 Thursday
Christmas^
Christianity
12/25/17 Monday
Feast of the Nativity
Orthodox Christian
12/25/17 Monday
Zorathosht Diso Zoroastrianism 12/26/17 Tuesday
Kwanzaa African-American culture 12/26/17 - 1/1/18 Tuesday - Monday
Gantan-Sai^
Shinto
1/1/18 Monday
Feast of the Epiphany/Theophany/Nativity
Christina/Orthodox/Armenian Christian
1/6/18 Saturday
Christmas Orthodox Christian 1/7/18 Sunday
Feast of the Nativity Eastern Orthodox Christianity 1/7/18 Sunday
Noble Drew Ali's Birthday Nation of Islam 1/8/18 Monday
New Year Mahayana Buddhism 1/12/18 - 1/15/18 Friday - Monday
Maghi Sikhism 1/13/18 Saturday
Moorish New Year Moorish Science Temple of America 1/15/18 Monday
World Religion Day Baha'i 1/21/18 Sunday
Mahayana and Bodhi Buddhism 1/24/18 Wednesday
Lunar New Year^ Confucianism/Daoism/Buddhism 1/28/18 Sunday
Imbolc/Lughnassah Wicca/Pagan traditions 2/2/18 Friday
Setsebun-Sai Shinto 2/3/18 Saturday
Nirvana Day Buddhism/Sikhism 2/8/18 Thursday
Mahashavaratri Hinduism 2/13/18 -2/14/18 Tuesday - Wednesday
Ash Wednesday Roman Catholicism 2/14/18 Wednesday
Parinirvana or Nirvana Day Buddhist/Jainism 2/15/18 Thursday
Savior's Day Nation of Islam 2/26/18 Monday
Purim* Judaism 3/1/18 Thursday
Holi* Hinduism 3/2/18 - 3/3/18 Friday - Saturday
Nineteen Day Fast Baha'i 3/2/18 - 3/21/18 Friday - Wednesday
Hola Mohalla Sikhism 3/3/18 - 3/5/18 Saturday - Monday
Moorish Seniors Day Moorish Science Temple of America 3/4/18 Sunday
Maga Puja Buddhism 3/12/18 Monday
L. Ron Hubbard's Birthday Scientology 3/13/18 Tuesday
Spring Equinox Wicca/Pagan traditions 3/20/18 Tuesday
Nowruz Zoroastrianism/Baha'i 3/21/18 Wednesday
New Year Baha'i 3/21/18 Wednesday
Mabon Wicca/Pagan traditions 3/21/18 Wenesday
Palm Sunday Christianity 3/25/18 Sunday
New Year Hinduism 3/2818 Wednesday
Birth of the Prophet Zoroastrianism 3/28/18 Wednesday
Ramayana Hinduism 3/28/18 - 4/5/18 Wednesday - Thursday
Good/Holy Friday Catholic/Protestant/Orthodox Christianity 3/30/18 Friday
Passover*^ Judaism 3/31/18 0 4/7/18 Saturday - Saturday
Easter Christianity 4/1/18 Sunday
Holy Friday Orthodox Christianity 4/6/18 Friday
Easter Orthodox Christianity 4/8/18 Sunday
Lord's Evening Meal Jehova's Witness 4/11/18 Wednesday
New Year Theravada Buddhism 4/11/18 - 4/14/18 Wednesday - Saturday
Ridvan Festival Baha'i 4/21/18 - 5/2/18 Saturday - Wednesday
Theravada New Year Buddhism 4/22/18 Sunday
Beltane Wicca/Pagan traditions 5/1/18 Tuesday
National Day of Prayer Interfaith 5/4/18 Friday
National Day of Reason Atheist/Humanist/Secularist 5/5/18 Saturday
Visakha Puja Buddhism 5/15/18 Tuesday
Ramadan* Islam 5/16/18 - 6/15/18 Wednesday - Friday
Shavuot^ Judaism 5/20/18 - 5/21/18 Sunday - Monday
Declaration of the Ba'b Baha'i 5/24/18 Thursday
Ascension of Baha'u'llah Baha'i 5/29/15 Tuesday
Eid al-Fitr* Islam 6/15/17 Friday
Solstice Wicca/Pagan traditions 6/21/18 Thursday

* Holiday begins at sundown the night before

^ Work Restrictions common

 

Notes:

  • This is not a complete list of all holidays in all world religions. Suggestions for additions may be emailed to Joanne Robinson at Joanne.Robinson@uncc.edu.
  • Regional variations are common.
  • Muslim holidays can vary based on interpretations of the lunar calendar.