Religious Calendar 2016-2017

July 2016 - June 2017

Name of Holiday
Religion/ U.S.Holiday
Dates Days of the Week
Laylat al-Qadr *
Islamic
7/1/16 Friday
Independence Day
U.S. Holiday
7/4/16 Monday
Eid al- Fitr (End of Ramadan) *
Islamic
7/5/16 Tuesday
Janmashtami
Hindu
8/25/16 Thursday
Labor Day
U.S. Holiday
9/5/16 Monday
Eid al-Adha * Islamic 9/11/16 Sunday
Navaratri / Dassehra 
Hindu
10/1/16 - 10/9/16 Monday - Tuesday
Muharram (Al Hijrah - New Year) Islamic 10/2/2016 Sunday
Rosh Hashanah *
Jewish
10/3/16 - 10/4/16 Monday - Tuesday
Columbus Day (Observed)
U.S. Holiday
10/10/16 Monday
Yom Kippur *
Jewish
10/12/16 Wednesday
Sukkoth *
Jewish
10/17/16 Monday
Sh’mini Atzeret *
Jewish
10/24/16 Monday
Simchat Torah *
Jewish
10/25/16 Tuesday
Diwali
Hindu
10/30/16 Sunday
Veteran’s Day
U.S. Holiday
11/11/16 Friday
Thanksgiving Day
U.S. Holiday
11/24/16 Thursday
Maulid al-Nabi
Islamic
12/11/16 Sunday
Hanukkah *
Jewish
12/25/16 - 1/1/17 Sunday - Sunday
Christmas
Christian
12/25/16 Sunday
Christmas Day (Observed) U.S. Holiday 12/26/16 Monday
New Year’s Day (Observed)
U.S. Holiday
1/2/17 Monday
Christmas (Orthodox)
Orthodox Christian
1/7/17 Saturday
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (Observed)
U.S. Holiday
1/16/17 Monday
President's Day (Observed)
U.S. Holiday
2/20/17 Monday
Maha Shivaratri 
Hindu
2/25/17 Saturday
Beginning of Lent (Clean Monday)
Orthodox Christian
2/27/17 Monday
Ash Wednesday (Beginning of Lent)
Christian
3/1/17 Wednesday
Purim * Jewish 3/12/17 Sunday
Holi
Hindu
3/13/17 - 3/14/17 Monday - Tuesday
Ramanavami
Hindu
4/5/17 Wednesday
Passover *
Jewish
4/11/17 - 4/18/17 Tuesday - Tuesday
Good Friday
Christian & Orthodox Christian
4/14/17 Friday
Easter
Christian & Orthodox Christian
4/16/17 Sunday
Ramadan (Beginning) *
Islamic
5/27/17 Saturday
Memorial Day
U.S. Holiday
5/29/17 Monday
Shavouth *
Jewish
5/31/17 Wednesday
Laylat al-Qadr *
Islamic
6/21/17 Wednesday
Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan) * Islamic 6/25/17 Sunday
* All Jewish and Islamic holidays listed above begin at sundown on the previous day.